(Fake) letters from a Southern spy infiltrated in the North prior to the American Civil War (1861-1865)

a southern spy in northern viriginia.png

30 Square Center

                                                                             Washington, DC

                                                                              November 7th, 1860

 

21 Long Side St

Austin, TX

 

Dear Mr. Adams,

As you know, I am currently involved in the “Spying Lincoln Operation” and in the last weeks I have been undergoing my mission of infiltrating Lincoln’s government, a situation that has led me to some information.

The first thing you need to know is that the Northern government might be planning a massive attack on us. In case this information is real and they have such a huge army, they will probably beat us in the battlefield, which could mean the end of slavery in the country.

I think you should start the preparation of an army that could fight them back, but I have to tell you that I will not be able to keep giving  you information, because in these last days Lincoln´s men are having a strange attitude towards me, something that might be a signal which says that I have been discovered.

I hope you can make me return soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Solivers

Juan S.

spies of the confederacy.jpg

12 Parkside St

New York City, NY

November 7th, 1860

 

James Hanratty

Hanratty Co. Manager

45 Mc Gregor St

St Petersburg, FL

 

Dear Mr.Hanratty,

I am writing concerning an issue of much importance to us all, that if unattended could result in unfortunate casualties. For this I would be extremely grateful if you took note of absolutely everything that I am referring to in this letter.

During my time in the North I have discovered that presidential candidate Abraham Lincoln is currently planning to abolish slavery completely throughout the states. This, as you may understand, is by no means beneficial towards our alliance and therefore, must be avoided at all costs.

Regarding the issue at hand, I strongly recommend that you create a Confederation of Southern States to ensure the prosperity of slavery and the security of our fair system. Be warned that war may be upon us since I do not see any other alternative if Lincoln is to win the elections and execute his plan.

Yours faithfully,

Gabriel McAlphonse

P.S: I would also like to be transferred back to Florida, since I suspect that I am raising suspicion in my field of research.

Gabriel D. A.